Lake Washington Literacy Council

LWLC

 

 Events for 2013-2014 Coming Soon!

Professional Development and Pizza

When: November 21, 2013

Time: 4:15-7:00 p.m

Where: Franklin Elem. (Kirkland, WA)

3 Clock Hours Available!

 

First Session Options: Reading Focus

1.     Daily 5 by Maria Chesney

2.     Increasing Stamina & Engagement in Primary Readers by Anna Jaross

3.     Wonderworks for Special Ed. & Safety Net by Jennifer Mackler

4.     Falling in Love with Close Reading by Shannon Leonard & Marissa Anarde

5.     A Week in Wonders Workshop by Jeannette Siemers

6.     Reaching Boy Readers by Zandria Hopper

7.     Note & Notice: Moving Students to Deeper Understanding of Literary Text by Carolyn Kaiser

Second Session Options: Writing Focus

 1.     Reaching Struggling Writers by Anna Jaross

2.     Primary Opinion Writing by Kailee Vanderwerff & Danielle Knapman

3.     Supporting Opinion Writers in a Workshop Approach by Phoebe Pascoe & Megan Goodwin

4.     Intermediate Nonfiction Writing by Whitney Clarkin

5.     Boy Writers: Helping Them Find Their Voice by Cim Dew

6.     Maximizing Literacy in a Thematic Unit by Jennifer Russell & Stefani Kauppila

Interested in attending?

Make sure you’re a LWLC member and just show up!  No need to RSVP.

Not a member? Join at the event for $25.

Schedule:

4:15-4:30- Check in / Clock Hours

4:30-5:30- Session 1

5:30-6:00- Pizza

6:00-7:00 Session 2

Book Club: Writing Matters in Every Classroom

When: December 3rd and 10th

Time: 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Where: John Muir Elementary

Hosted by Kacie Morison & Rebecca Breier (RSVP to kmorison@nulllwsd.org)

Find us on Facebook

 Executive Board

Past President Cim Dew
President Jodie Toresdahl N/A jtoresdahl@nulllwsd.org
President Elect Phoebe Pascoe Mann ppascoe@nulllwsd.org
Treasurer Jennifer Mackler Rose Hill & Franklin Jmackler@nulllwsd.org
Public Relation/Newsletter Jessie Sterling Mead jsterling@nulllwsd.org
Secretary Kailee Vanderwerff Einstein kvanderwerff@nulllwsd.org
Honor Council Anna Jaross McAuliffe ajaross@nulllwsd.org
Membership Shannon Leonard Mann sleonard@nulllwsd.org
General Board Jeannette Siemers Parks jsiemers@nulllwsd.org